Shares in FTSE 100-listed Worldpay are surging on reports of an £8 billion merger to be announced within hours

LONDON — Payment processing firm Worldpay is close to agreeing on a takeover deal by payment processing giant Vantiv that could be announced as soon as the New York market open at 2.30 p.m. BST (9.30 a.m. ET), the Financial Times reports.

The deal would come less than a day after Worldpay confirmed separate takeover bids from JPMorgan Chase Bank and Vantiv.

Worldpay shares were up 4.66% at 11.00 a.m. BST (6 a.m. ET) following gains of nearly 25% on Tuesday:

Vantiv is being advised by Morgan Stanley and has offered to combine in a share-based merger that would value Worldpay at more than £8 billion, the FT said.

JPMorgan’s offer was a cash takeover deal which would value the firm above its share price before yesterday’s surge.

Worldpay declined to comment.

The company was listed two years ago and is a constituent of the FTSE 100 index. It provides payment services for point of sale transactions, and internet and mail order retailers.

Danish card payment services firm Nets A/S also said over the weekend it had been approached by potential buyers.

NOW WATCH: The bizarre and controversial ‘Flintstones House’ reportedly sold for $US2.8 million

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.