- If you suspect that you’ve been blocked on Instagram, there are several things you can check to see which accounts have blocked you.
- Instagram does not send any notifications when an account is blocked, so you may be blocked from following someone without ever knowing it.
- Searching for the specific account that you think blocked you in the Instagram app for iPhone and Android is the easiest way to tell if you have been blocked, but there are other steps you can take as well.
- Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.
When you block someone on Instagram, the blocked party gets no notification, so they won’t even know you have taken any action against them.
But what if you’re the one who has been blocked? If you notice that you haven’t seen a certain person’s posts in your Insta feed in a while, it’s possible they simply haven’t posted anything in a while, or they may have blocked you.
Check out the products mentioned in this article:
How to tell who has blocked you on Instagram
First, simply search for the account that you think has blocked you in the app.
- If the account is private and you can’t find it, you’ve likely been blocked.
- If the account is public, and when visiting their page you can’t see their profile image, post count, follower count, or following count, and the photo grid area reads “No Posts Yet,” you have definitely been blocked.
On a computer, if you type in the link Instagram.com/username (replacing the word “username” with their Insta handle, of course) and get a page reading “Sorry, this page isn’t available,” then you have likely been blocked, assuming they didn’t delete their account.
To confirm whether their account has been deleted, you need to do some detective work. Head to an Instagram account you know the person follows and look for comments or likes they have left; if you find any, it confirms that they haven’t closed their account, and have indeed blocked you.
You could also always use a friend’s account, or even create a new Instagram account, and look for the person you suspect blocked you. If this other account can find their profile, see their photos, and the like, you’ve been blocked.
Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:
Business Insider Emails & Alerts
Site highlights each day to your inbox.