Curiosity Rover Lands Safely On Mars!

After nearly nine months, NASA’s one-ton rover, Curiosity, is just a few hours away from landing on Mars. Here’s what you need to know to be a part of this historic event.

Curiosity rover is slated to touchdown on the Red Planet on Aug. 5 at 10:31 p.m. Pacific (1:31 a.m. Eastern). Once the six-wheel robot hits the floor of Gale Crater, it will take 14 minutes for confirmation to reach scientists in California at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory.  

For live coverage of the landing from 8:30 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. Pacific (11:30 p.m. to 2 a.m. Eastern): 

  • UStream (with commentary)
  • UStream HD
  • NASA TV

If you live in New York City, you can watch the live NASA broadcast on the Times Square big screens on Sunday at 11:30 p.m. 

Ustream with commentary from scientists and engineers:

Video streaming by Ustream

Ustream (only audio from mission controllers): 

Video streaming by Ustream

UPDATE 12:25 ET: Curiosity is now flying on its own, meaning there are no more commands from Earth. 

@MarsCuriosity tweets:

UPDATE 1:40 ET: Curiosity has successfully landed on Mars!

More from the Mars mission:

  • This Is The Size Of The First Image Expected From Mars Rover Curiosity
  • Curiosity Would Be Crippled Without These Instruments
  • NASA’s ‘Good Luck’ Charm: Peanuts

 

 

NOW WATCH: Briefing videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.