NCAA Football Rule 7.1.3.a.4(b): No offensive player shall contact an opponent or make a false start which includes…a shift or movement that simulates the beginning of a play.
Last night, the Michigan Wolverines defeated Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl with a field goal in overtime. But it was also a field goal that should have never counted, and a play that should have never happened.
Just prior to the start of the play, the kicker can be seen starting his motion towards the holder and then stopping. This is a false start. And despite happening right in front of the referee, nothing was called.
This was the second call late in the game that went against the Hokies. In the fourth quarter, on a 2nd-and-five, a Hokies runner was inexplicably ruled down five yards short of the first down (SEE VIDEO HERE), even though he appeared to gain a first down. Two plays later, Virginia Tech was stopped on a fake punt that led to Michigan taking a late lead.
Here is the game-winning field goal…
NOW WATCH: Briefing videos
Business Insider Emails & Alerts
Site highlights each day to your inbox.