Trump's travel ban is now in effect -- here's who's exempt

President Donald Trump’s travel ban took effect Thursday evening at 8 p.m. ET, following months of intense litigation.

Earlier in the week, the Supreme Court lifted much of the lower courts’ blockades on the ban, allowing parts of it to take effect. The ban, which bars the entry of foreign nationals from six majority-Muslim countries, now contains several exemptions.

According to the Supreme Court’s order, people from Syria, Iran, Yemen, Somalia, Sudan, and Libya will not be allowed to enter the country unless they can “credibly claim” a “bona fide relationship” to a person or entity in the US.

These exemptions have already sparked fierce debate over what a bona fide relationship is, and how they will be verified. Senior administration officials on Thursday clarified to reporters which types of relationships can justify a foreign national’s entry into the US.

Here’s what they said:

NOW WATCH: ‘You’re inflaming everybody!’: Watch reporters clash with Sanders over press coverage

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.