Tianlang Guan said he took so long to hit his second shot on the 17th hole because the wind switched directions and he had to change clubs.
Guan was given a one-stroke penalty — the first penalty for slow play in a PGA Tour-sanctioned event since 1995 — and he might miss the cut because of it.
But he was incredibly humble in his post-match interview with ESPN. He said he respected the decision and that it won’t take away from his overall experience.
Here’s the Q&A, video below:
ESPN: What happened on 17?
Guan: I played a pretty good round today I think. On 17 I just got my second bad time because today’s weather is not that good, the wind switches a lot, so I just had to change my club. So it was over 50 seconds.
ESPN: What did you know about the rule before you played today?
Guan: I know the rules pretty good. But I think my routine is pretty good too. Just the wind switching, so the weather wasn’t that good today. …
ESPN: Do you think you deserved a stroke penalty?
Guan: I respect the decision. This is what they can do.
ESPN: If you were to miss the cut by a single shot, how might it shape your Masters experience?
Guan: It’s still a wonderful experience for me. I enjoy this week so far and I think I did a pretty good job.
Considering English is this guy’s second language, it’s a pretty remarkable and smart interview.
It’ll be a small travesty if he misses the cut because of that penalty.
Here’s the video:
NOW WATCH: Briefing videos
Business Insider Emails & Alerts
Site highlights each day to your inbox.