Photo: Lance Neilson via Flickr
As part of Google’s push for its new social network, Google+, the company will no longer allow users to have private profiles after July 31.Here’s what that means. If you use Google Buzz, share information on Google Reader, or do certain things with certain other Google products, then you have a Google profile.
If you were worried about people finding your Google profile, you could make it private, so nobody could view the page but you.
But as Danny Sullivan of Search Engine Land noted earlier today, after July 31 Google will delete all private profiles. If you want to keep using Google’s social products, you have to make your profile public.
Before you panic: you don’t need a Google profile to use services like Gmail. That simply requires a Google account, which is different.
And you can still control what information you share on your profile. The bare minimum is your name and gender. You can also hide your profile from showing up in search results, which makes it effectively private.
If you’re still scared of all this, Google makes it very easy get your information out of Google services and then delete your profile, or even your entire Google account — just visit the account settings page and scroll to the bottom.