Here are the extravagant rings given to Super Bowl champions over the years

After the New England Patriots won Super Bowl XLIX in 2015, owner Robert Kraft ordered 150 rings at a cost of AUD$7.17 million (US$5.5 million).

Each ring cost $47,600, the most ever for a Super Bowl ring made by Jostens.

But to the victor who earns it, the value of the ring exceeds money.

“It isn’t just diamond and gold,” said Jerry Kramer, a former Green Bay Packer player who won the first Super Bowl in 1966. “It’s a collection of memories and moments.”

Minneapolis-based jewellery company Jostens is the primary supplier of Super Bowl rings, in addition to manufacturing the majority of high school and college graduation rings in the United States. It has made 31 rings in the Super Bowl’s 50-year history.

Jostens provided us with photos of the Super Bowl rings they have supplied. We have added photos of some of the others.

Super Bowl I (1967): Green Bay Packers 35, Kansas City Chiefs 10

Super Bowl II (1968): Green Bay Packers 33, Oakland Raiders 14

Super Bowl IV (1970): Kansas City Chiefs 23, Minnesota Vikings 7

Super Bowl V (1971): Baltimore Colts 16, Dallas Cowboys 13

Super Bowl VII (1973): Miami Dolphins 14, Washington Redskins 7

Super Bowl VIII (1974): Miami Dolphins 24, Minnesota Vikings 7

Super Bowl IX (1975): Pittsburgh Steelers 16, Minnesota Vikings 6

Super Bowl XI (1977): Oakland Raiders 32, Minnesota Vikings 14

Super Bowl XII (1978): Dallas Cowboys 27, Denver Broncos 10

Super Bowl XIII (1979): Pittsburgh Steelers 35, Dallas Cowboys 31

Super Bowl XIV (1981): Oakland Raiders 27, Philadelphia Eagles 10

Super Bowl XVII (1983): Washington Redskins 27, Miami Dolphins 17

Super Bowl XVIII (1984): Los Angeles Raiders 38, Washington Redskins 9

Super Bowl XIX (1985): San Francisco 49ers 38, Miami Dolphins 16

Super Bowl XX (1986): Chicago Bears 46, New England Patriots 10

Super Bowl XXI (1987): New York Giants 39, Denver Broncos 20

Super Bowl XXIII (1989): San Francisco 49ers 20, Cincinnati Bengals 16

Super Bowl XXIV (1990): San Francisco 49ers 55, Denver Broncos 10

Super Bowl XXXI (1997): Green Bay Packers 35, New England Patriots 21

Super Bowl XXXII (1998): Denver 31, Green Bay 24

Super Bowl XXXIII (1999): Denver Broncos 34, Atlanta Falcons 19

Super Bowl XXXIV (2000): St. Louis Rams 23, Tennessee Titans 16

Super Bowl XXXV (2001): Baltimore Ravens 34, New York Giants 7

Super Bowl XXXVI (2002): New England Patriots 20, St. Louis Rams 17

Super Bowl XXXVII (2003): Tampa Bay 48, Oakland 21

Super Bowl XXXVIII (2004): New England Patriots 32, Carolina Panthers 29

Super Bowl XXXIX (2005): New England Patriots 24, Philadelphia Eagles 21

Super Bowl XL (2006): Pittsburgh Steelers 21, Seattle Seahawks 10

Super Bowl XLIII (2009): Pittsburgh Steelers 27, Arizona Cardinals 23

Super Bowl XLIX (2015): New England Patriots 28, Seattle Seahawks 24

Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

Super Bowl 50 (2016): Denver Broncos 24, Carolina Panthers 10

Now check out who the highest-paid players are in this year's Super Bowl.

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.