- The spring of 2019 has seen an unprecedented surge in Republican-led states passing near-total bans on most abortions.
- In the months of April and May alone, the governors of Ohio, Missouri, Louisiana, Mississippi, Georgia, and Alabama signed some of the most restrictive abortion bans in the country into law.
- None of the laws have gone into effect yet, and all are being challenged in court.
- Some legislators have explicitly stated the purpose of these bans is to bring a case before the Supreme Court that could result in the court overturning Roe v. Wade.
- Here are all the states that have passed new abortion bans or restrictions in 2019.
- Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.
For years, Republican-controlled state legislatures have enacted new abortion restrictions, including mandating counseling, waiting periods, and expensive regulations on clinics to steadily limit access to the procedure.
The spring of 2019, however, has seen an unprecedented surge in Republican-led states passing near-total bans on most abortions.
Some legislators have explicitly said the purpose of these bans is to bring a case before the Supreme Court that could result in the court overturning Roe v. Wade, the landmark 1973 court decision in which the court ruled that states cannot ban abortion before the point of fetal viability.
In the months of April and May alone, the governors of Ohio, Georgia, Mississippi, Missouri, and Alabama signed some of the most restrictive abortion bans in the US into law.
None of these new laws or any previous six-week ban states have passed, however, have formally gone into effect.
Previous six-week bans passed by North Dakota and Iowa were struck down by federal and state judges, respectively. And new abortion bans introduced by Georgia, Alabama, are being challenged in court by organisations including the American Civil Liberties Union, Planned Parenthood, and the Center for Reproductive Rights.
Here are all the states that have passed new abortion bans or restrictions in 2019.
As of right now, here’s the latest a patient can obtain an abortion in every state.
Source: Guttmacher Institute
Just months after a federal judge struck down a 15-week abortion ban passed in Mississippi, Gov. Phil Bryant signed an even more restrictive six-week ban with no exemptions for rape or incest into law.
Carlton Reeves, the District Court judge who initially blocked the 15-week ban, also granted a preliminary injunction against the legislature’s six-week ban on May 24. The state is expected to appeal the decision.
On May 30, Louisiana’s Democratic Gov. John Bel Edwards signed a “heartbeat” bill to ban abortion after 5 to 6 weeks of pregnancy with no exceptions for rape or incest into law – but it will formally go into effect only if a federal appeals court upholds Mississippi’s similar “heartbeat” law.
On May 24, Missouri Gov. Mike Parson signed a bill into law that would ban abortion in the state after eight weeks, with no exemptions for rape or incest, and punish doctors who perform abortions with jail time. The ACLU immediately vowed to challenge the law in court.
On May 14, Alabama Gov. Kay Ivey signed a total ban on doctors performing abortions in Alabama, with no exceptions for rape or incest. Under the law, which is being challenged by the ACLU, performing the procedure is a class A felony with a maximum prison sentence of 99 years.
Georgia Gov. Brian Kemp signed a “heartbeat bill” into law on May 7. The law bans abortion after five to six weeks – with exceptions for rape, incest, and life of the mother – and establishes fetal personhood under Georgia law.
In April, Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine signed a similar “heartbeat” bill to ban abortions after six weeks with no exceptions for rape or incest. The law hasn’t gone into effect yet, and it is being challenged in court by Planned Parenthood and the ACLU.
In March, a federal judge granted an injunction blocking a Kentucky law that would have banned abortion after a fetal heartbeat was detected.
In March, Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson signed a ban on abortion after 18 weeks, which allows for exceptions in the case of rape, incest, or threat to the life of the pregnant person.
And in Utah, Gov. Gary Herbert signed a similar bill in March to ban abortion after 18 weeks. The law is being challenged by the ACLU and Planned Parenthood.
Business Insider Emails & Alerts
Site highlights each day to your inbox.