There are no women in the government's new science and technology committee

The UK government’s Science and Technology Committee has been criticised for failing to appoint any women to its new cohort of members.

The nine-strong, all-male committee was announced on Tuesday on Twitter and people immediately started highlighting its lack of diversity or scientific credentials.

“Good to see you’ve gone with the fully diverse package of both young AND old, white men,” wrote Twitter user John Ottaway, who describes himself as a science geek in his Twitter profile.

Another Twitter user by the name of Tarjinder wrote: “I’m more concerned about the level of expertise in science/tech as that will have an impact on decisions made.”

The Science and Technology Committee is tasked with making sure the UK government makes policy changes and decisions based on solid scientific evidence and advice.

MPs confirmed as new members on Tuesday include Norman Lamb, Bill Grant, Darren Jones, Clive Lewis, Stephen Metcalfe, Neil O’Brien, Graham Stringer, and Martin Whitfield.

The UK government is actively trying to encourage more girls and young women to study science, technology, engineering, and maths before going on to pursue a career that requires these subjects.

The committee did not immediately respond to Business Insider’s request for comment.

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.