An Incredibly Terrible Call In The Rockies-Angels Game Could've Been Avoided With The Use Of Instant Replay

Carlos Gonzalez, Scott Downs Rockies Angels controversial double play

Photo: ROOT Sports Rocky Mountain

The Los Angeles Angels were up 10-7 against the Colorado Rockies in the bottom of the ninth Sunday when reliever Scott Downs came in to close out the game.Downs gave up a double and RBI-single to start things off and make it 10-8 Angels. Then the Rockies best hitter, Carlos Gonzalez, came up to bat with a runner on first and nobody out.

Three pitches later CarGo hit a line drive right at Downs, resulting in a double play that basically ended the late game rally.

But the only reason why it was a double play is because home plate umpire Greg Gibson ruled CarGo’s line drive to Downs a “no catch” after Downs dropped it.

Replay later showed what appeared to be a drop on the transfer from his glove to his throwing hand. NOT on the catch. Therefore, the call probably should’ve been out and CarGo had good reasoning for not running hard down the first base line. He thought he was out already.

Regardless, the “no catch” rule made the double play possible. For all intents and purposes, it ended any hopes the Rockies had of a comeback or avoiding the three-game sweep. The play also got an angry Jim Tracy (Rockies manager) ejected from the game.

Simply requesting help from another umpire on the field, or even better, looking at the replay probably would’ve correctly reversed the call and kept the rally going.

Watch the entire play first and then click through to see it step-by-step

Colorado Rockies left fielder Carlos Gonzalez came up to bat down two runs, with a runner on first and nobody out

On the third pitch of the at-bat Gonzalez lined a bullet straight at Los Angeles Angels pitcher Scott Downs

Somehow, Downs was able to snatch it in mid-air

After already making the catch (notice the home plate umpire hasn't made a call), Downs began to transfer the ball to his throwing hand to try to double up the runner on first

But Downs lost control of it and the ball went flying out of his hand

Gonzalez thought, probably correctly, it was a line drive catch the whole way so he didn't run down the line

The runner on first didn't move either, so Downs threw to second base for the first out...

and the Angels doubled up Gonzalez to finish the double play

Two batters later the inning was over and the Rockies had lost both their chance at a late-inning rally and the game

Carlos Gonzalez is one of baseball's brightest stars too...

NOW WATCH: Briefing videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.