The pound is losing momentum against the dollar after worse than expected GDP numbers

LONDON — Sterling is losing some of its earlier momentum against the dollar on Friday morning after worse than expected GDP figures.

The pound rose strongly against the dollar in early trade on Friday to reach as high as $US1.2944. But sterling is pulling back after GDP figures released at 9.30 a.m. BST (4.30 a.m. ET) showed the economy grew by just 0.3% in the first quarter, less than economists expected.

Here’s how the pound looks against the dollar at 9.38 a.m. BST (4.38 a.m. ET):

NOW WATCH: SCOTT GALLOWAY: Investing in Snap is something ‘no one responsible should ever do’

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at research.businessinsider.com.au.