A pound will now get you less than one euro at most UK airports

Travellers are now getting less than one euro to the pound in most UK airports, according to a report by the BBC.

The average rate available at 17 airport bureaux de change is now just 99 euro cents to the pound, the BBC said, citing a survey by currency exchange firm FairFX.

Moneycorp at Southampton airport features the lowest rate, at just €0.88 to one pound, while the best rate is €1.06 at the Change Group at Glasgow Prestwick.

The current wholesale market rate is €1.10, but the currency has been dropping like a stone and could go lower.

The dollar rates weren’t much better. The survey found that travellers were getting rates as low as $0.97 to the pound from ForExchange at Cardiff airport.

Sterling hit a fresh 31-year low against the dollar in early trading, falling below $1.23 for the first time since 1985, with currency markets concerned that the UK economy will take a hit from a so-called “Hard Brexit.”

The currency fell off a cliff around 7:45 a.m. BST (2:45 a.m. ET), plunging to a low of $1.2285 soon before 8:15 a.m. BST (3:15 a.m. ET). That is a fall of more than 0.6% from the open.

Here is the chart:

And here is sterling’s performance against the euro:

NOW WATCH: STIGLITZ: There are so many ways that Trump is wrong about the economy

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at research.businessinsider.com.au.