European Stocks Are Climbing

ClimbingREUTERS/Enrique MarcarianEuropean stocks are climbing as the week gets underway.

After a shaky start to 2015, European equities are starting the week well.

Here’s the scorecard as of 10.35 a.m. GMT (5.35 a.m. ET)

France’s CAC 40: +1.59%

Germany’s DAX:  +1.42%

UK’s FTSE 100: +0.40%

Spain’s IBEX: +1.30%

Italy’s FTSE MIB: +0.89%

Asian shares were mixed: Japanese markets were closed for a national holiday.Hong Kong’s Hang Seng closed up 0.45%. The Shanghai Composite Index ended down 1.71%.

US futures are rising. The S&P is 10.75 points higher and the Dow is up 92 points.

It’s mostly quiet on the data front today. At 3 p.m. GMT (10 a.m. ET), the US releases its Labour Market Conditions Index for December, which should give an extra hint at the health of the American workforce.

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at research.businessinsider.com.au.