Marc Jacobs Just Won Fan favourite For CFDA 'Designer Of The Year'

Photo: Pascal Le Segretain / Getty Images

This year, the annual Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) Awards is being held on June 4 at the Alice Tully Hall at Lincoln centre. The event seeks to “recognise the outstanding contributions made to American fashion by individuals from all areas.” Past winners have included Alexander Wang, Eddie Borgo, and Prabal Gurung.

In anticipation for next week’s event, the CFDA partnered with Polyvore–”the web’s largest fashion community site“–to host a fan-based challenge judged by the CEO of CFDA, Steven Kolb.

The two categories up for debate were “Women’s Designer of the Year” and “Accessory Designer of the Year.”

In the running for “Designer of the Year” were Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen for the Row, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs, while Alexander Wang, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Reed Krakoff were the nominees for best “Accessory Designer.”   

After 1,525 votes, Polyvore members awarded Marc Jacobs with the prestigious “Designer of the Year” award, while Proenza Schouler won “Accessory Designer of the Year.”

The fans have spoken!  

SEE ALSO: The best and worst dressed celebs at the Met Gala >

NOW WATCH: Briefing videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.