The fans of the Cleveland Indians and Detroit Lions have the longest championship droughts

When the Chicago Cubs won the World Series last year, they ended the longest championship drought in North American Sports — 108 years. Now that the Cubs drought is over, which team has now gone the longest without a championship? The answer can be tricky.

If we look just at franchises, the honour goes to the NFL’s Cardinals, who have not won a championship since 1947. However, that title was won in Chicago and the team has only been in Arizona since 1988 (with a stop in St. Louis in between). It doesn’t seem fair to say Arizona Cardinals fans have suffered the longest.

Instead, let’s look at which fan bases have suffered without a title the longest. In that case, the title goes to the fans of the Cleveland Indians, who lost to the Chicago Cubs in the World Series and who have now gone 68 years without a championship. They are followed by the Detroit Lions (59 years). The longest streaks for teams in their current cities in the NHL belong to the St. Louis Blues and Toronto Maple Leafs (50; the Blues have never won a title) and in the NBA it is the Atlanta Hawks and Phoenix Suns (49; the Suns have never won a title), with the average for all teams being 24.8 years.

You can see the full list below the chart.


Years without a title (in current city)

Cleveland Indians 68
Detroit Lions 59
Philadelphia Eagles 56
Minnesota Vikings 56
Houston Astros 55
San Diego Chargers 53
Buffalo Bills 51
Atlanta Falcons 50
Toronto Maple Leafs 50
St Louis Blues 50
Phoenix Suns 49
Atlanta Hawks 49
Cleveland Browns 49
Cincinnati Bengals 49
New York Jets 48
San Diego Padres 48
Denver Nuggets 47
Kansas City Chiefs 47
Vancouver Canucks 47
Buffalo Sabres 47
Milwaukee Brewers 47
Milwaukee Bucks 46
Texas Rangers 45
New York Knicks 44
Indiana Pacers 44
Los Angeles Rams 44
Miami Dolphins 43
Washington Capitals 43
Philadelphia Flyers 42
Portland Trail Blazers 40
Seattle Mariners 40
Washington Wizards 39
Utah Jazz 38
Pittsburgh Pirates 37
Philadelphia 76ers 34
New York Islanders 34
Los Angeles Clippers 33
Baltimore Orioles 33
Sacramento Kings 32
Detroit Tigers 32
Chicago Bears 31
New York Mets 30
Charlotte Bobcats 29
Orlando Magic 28
Minnesota Timberwolves 28
Calgary Flames 28
Los Angeles Dodgers 28
Edmonton Oilers 27
Oakland Athletics 27
San Jose Sharks 26
Cincinnati Reds 26
Washington Redskins 25
Ottawa Senators 25
Minnesota Twins 25
Montreal Canadiens 24
Florida Panthers 24
Colorado Rockies 24
Oakland Raiders 23
Arizona Cardinals 23
Winnipeg Jets 23
New York Rangers 23
Toronto Blue Jays 23
Toronto Raptors 22
Houston Rockets 22
San Francisco 49ers 22
Jacksonville Jaguars 22
Dallas Cowboys 21
Carolina Panthers 21
Arizona Coyotes 21
Atlanta Braves 21
Chicago Bulls 19
Nashville Predators 19
Tampa Bay Rays 19
Tennessee Titans 18
Dallas Stars 18
Minnesota Wild 17
Columbus Blue Jackets 17
Memphis Grizzlies 16
Colorado Avalanche 16
New Orleans Pelicans 15
Houston Texans 15
Arizona Diamondbacks 15
Tampa Bay Buccaneers 14
New Jersey Devils 14
Los Angeles Angels 14
Detroit Pistons 13
Tampa Bay Lightning 13
Miami Marlins 13
Washington Nationals 12
Carolina Hurricanes 11
Chicago White Sox 11
Indianapolis Colts 10
Anaheim Ducks 10
Oklahoma City Thunder 9
Boston Celtics 9
Detroit Red Wings 9
Pittsburgh Steelers 8
Philadelphia Phillies 8
Los Angeles Lakers 7
New Orleans Saints 7
New York Yankees 7
Dallas Mavericks 6
Green Bay Packers 6
Boston Bruins 6
Brooklyn Nets 5
New York Giants 5
St Louis Cardinals 5
Miami Heat 4
Baltimore Ravens 4
San Antonio Spurs 3
Seattle Seahawks 3
Los Angeles Kings 3
Boston Red Sox 3
Chicago Blackhawks 2
San Francisco Giants 2
Cleveland Cavaliers 1
Denver Broncos 1
Kansas City Royals 1
Golden State Warriors 0
New England Patriots 0
Pittsburgh Penguins 0
Chicago Cubs 0