The London Stock Exchange -- Europe's biggest trading venue -- went down for a whole hour

  • London Stock Exchange open hit by one hour delay on Thursday.
  • Prices for stocks listed on the FTSE 100, Britain’s benchmark share index, were unavailable immediately after the 8 a.m. open.

LONDON – Trading on Europe’s largest stock exchange, the London Stock Exchange, was delayed by an hour on Thursday after an unidentified glitch prevented the venue from beginning business on time.

It is currently unknown what caused the glitch that prevented the exchange’s opening auction, the key mechanism for the start of trade, from taking place just before its scheduled start time at 8.00 a.m. BST (3.00 a.m. ET).

By 8.40 a.m. prices for stocks listed on the FTSE 100, Britain’s benchmark share index, were unavailable, according to data from Markets Insider.

The exchange eventually began trading at 9.00 a.m. BST (4.00 a.m. ET), following a 15-minute auction to determine the opening prices of securities traded at the venue. The market was largely flat once it finally opened, with the FTSE 100 gaining around 0.2% from Wednesday’s close.

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.