Australia has now had seven prime ministers in just 10 years -- here's who they are and how long they were in office

Stefan Postles/Getty ImagesScott Morrison

Scott Morrison has just been named as the 30th Prime Minister of Australia.

It comes after a leadership spill was called on Friday and former Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull resigned from parliament.

The Liberal Party voted on three candidates — Morrison, backbencher (and former Home Affairs minister) Peter Dutton, and Deputy Leader Julie Bishop.

Here’s a look at the seven prime minister Australia has had over the last 10 years.

Scott Morrison

Stefan Postles/Getty ImagesScott Morrison

August 24, 2018 — current.

Malcolm Turnbull: 3 years

Quinn Rooney/Getty ImagesMalcolm Turnbull

September 15, 2015 — August 24, 2018.

Tony Abbott: 2 years

Tony Abbott. Photo: Dave Rowland/ Getty.

September 18, 2013 — September 15, 2015.

Kevin Rudd: 2.5 months

Getty ImagesKevin Rudd

June 27, 2013 — September 18, 2013.

Julia Gillard: 3 years

Getty ImagesJulia Gillard

June 24, 2010 — June 27, 2013.

Kevin Rudd: 2.5 years

Getty ImagesKevin Rudd

December 3, 2007 — June 24, 2010.

John Howard: 12 years

Getty ImagesJohn Howard

March 11, 1996 — December 3, 2007.

John Howard is the second longest serving prime minister of Australia after Robert Menzies.

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.