With a 7-6 lead in tow, Detroit Tigers closer Jose Valverde came in to close the deal in the ninth inning against the Cincinnati Reds Sunday. He got the save and the Tigers won.
The first batter Valverde faced was Reds catcher Devin Mesoraco. In zooming in on Valverde it appears the ESPN cameras may have caught him spitting into his glove right before delivering a pitch.
The thing is, the baseball was in his glove right where his spit appears to be landing, making the very next pitch an infamously outlawed spitball.
Here are two videos (via Hardball Talk): the first one is a close look at Valverde spitting into his glove, while the second one shows the whole pitch sequence.
Craig Calcaterra of Hardball Talk points out that chances are good MLB will simply “look into it” and tell its umpires to start paying closer attention to Valverde from now, but probably won’t take any disciplinary action.
What do you think? Was it a spitball?
NOW WATCH: Briefing videos
Business Insider Emails & Alerts
Site highlights each day to your inbox.