How to watch the 2017 Melbourne Cup, online and for free

Racegoers watch a race on Melbourne Cup Day at Flemington Racecourse on November 1, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. Photo: Michael Dodge/ Getty Images.

Want to watch the Melbourne Cup live but don’t have a TV in your workplace? Here’s everything you need to know about watching the race that stops a nation live – from the various TV options to Twitter’s global live stream. We’ve also included all the important Melbourne Cup links and race times to make life easier, along with overseas viewing tips. Game on!

What time is the Melbourne Cup on?

The Melbourne Cup kicks off at Flemington Racecourse on November 7, 2017. The race will commence at 3PM AEDT. This translates to 2PM in Brisbane, 2:30PM in Adelaide and 12PM in Perth.

What channel is the Melbourne Cup on?

As in previous years, the race will be broadcast on the free-to-air network Channel Seven. Seven’s coverage will begin at around 10am AEDT with the race scheduled for 3pm.

How to watch Channel 7’s Melbourne Cup coverage online

You can live stream the 2017 Melbourne Cup on Channel 7’s website.

How to watch the Melbourne Cup on Foxtel

The Melbourne Cup will be broadcast live on Fox Sports. You can follow along on Sky Racing 1 (channel 519) and Racing.com (channel 529.)

How to watch the Melbourne Cup on Twitter

For the second time ever, the Melbourne Cup will be streamed live on Twitter around the globe. Follow here from 3pm AEDT.

Other ways to watch the Melbourne Cup online

A lot of the bookmaking websites have live streaming options, although you’ll probably need to have an account or possibly even place a bet to gain access.

How to watch the Melbourne Cup overseas

The best way to watch the Melbourne Cup from overseas is the aforementioned Twitter feed. Note that Channel 7’s online coverage may not work outside Australia if you don’t have a suitable VPN setup.

How to watch the Melbourne Cup on your tablet or mobile phone

Again, the best choice for tablets and phones is via Twitter or the PLUS7 app for iOS and Android. If you’re a Foxtel customer you can also use the Foxtel Go app. (This requires access to the appropriate sports package.)

This article was originally published on Lifehacker Australia. Read the original here.

NOW WATCH: Briefing videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.