How To Silence People On Facebook You Don't Want To Hear From Anymore

crowd

Photo: Guzman Lozano via Flickr

Your Facebook News Feed shows you updates from everyone you’re friends with, no matter how close you are to them.You don’t care about them.

But you do care about your close friends, and now Facebook lets you see only the things they post and do.

It’s aptly called Close Friends. We’ll show you how it works.

This is your News Feed

There's the Close Friends link. It's on the left side, typically the first option under Friends.

This is what Close Friends looks like. Just like your News Feed.

Here's the Close Friends feed. The Close Friends feed only features updates from the friends you nominate as your close ones.

On the right side of the page there's a list of your Close Friends. Type a name and hit enter to add someone to the list.

Close Friend suggestions: Facebook recommends friends who you interact with a lot to be members.

Close Friend notifications: On the top right, you can toggle Close Friend notifications on and off. Notifications come when a Close Friend posts, likes, or comments on something.

Bookmark your Close Friends feed, not facebook.com. So when you go to Facebook, you'll see your close friends' activity and only your close friends' activity.

NOW WATCH: Tech Insider videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.