- You can block users on TikTok by visiting their profile, and unblock them later through the app’s Privacy menu.
- When you block someone on TikTok, you won’t be able to see their videos or profile.
- Blocking or unblocking a TikTok user won’t send them any sort of notification.
- Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.
Like most social media sites, TikTok’s blocking feature is pretty wide-reaching. When you block a user, TikTok will hide their videos, comments, messages, and profile. They won’t even show up if you search for their username.
This means that you can’t unblock someone on TikTok the same way you block them. Instead, you’ll need to go into your TikTok settings.
Here’s how to both block and unblock someone on TikTok.
How to block someone on TikTok
1. Open TikTok and find the profile of the person you want to block. You can do this by tapping on their username in a video or message, or by searching for them.
2. Once on their profile, tap the three dots or three lines in the top-right corner.
3. Select Block in the menu that appears, then confirm that you want to block them.
All their videos will disappear, and you’ll stop following them if you were before.
How to unblock someone on TikTok
1. Open TikTok and head to your profile by tapping the Profile icon in the bottom-right.
2. Tap the three lines in the top-right corner to open your app and account settings.
3. Tap Privacy, and then scroll to the bottom of this page and select Blocked accounts.
4. You’ll be shown a list of all the accounts you’ve blocked. Tap Unblock next to any of them to remove them from the list.
Once they’re unblocked, you’ll be able to find their account and videos again.