How To Leave A Group Message In IOS 8

When iOS 8 was announced, it brought along with it a bunch of features we were excited to see.

Among those features is beefed-up iMessages. iMessage now lets you send voice memos and share your location without leaving the app.

But the most exciting part about iMessage in iOS 8 is how it handles group messages. You can now not only rename and mute the group messages, but you can also leave the conversation entirely.

Here’s how to do it:

In the top-right corner of the group message, click on where it says “Details.”

That will open up a separate menu. At the bottom, it says “Leave this conversation” in red.

Once you leave the conversation, it shows what time you left.

Your friends can continue talking, even if you’re the one who started the conversation in the first place.

If you want to rejoin the conversation, one of your friends has to invite you back. You won’t see the conversation that you missed while you were gone.

And that’s it! The only thing to note: Everyone in the group needs to be using iOS 8 for this to work. Otherwise when you click on “Details,” the “Leave this conversation” button will be grayed out.

NOW WATCH: Tech Insider videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at

Tagged In

imessage ios 8 sai-us