How to delete your PS4 user account or permanently close your PlayStation Network account

Playstation 4 PS4 controller
If you delete a PS4 user account, you’ll permanently lose its data. George Dolgikh/Shutterstock

  • You can delete your PS4 account by navigating to Login Settings.
  • Deleting a PS4 user account will result in the loss of all data and screenshots tied to the account.
  • You can also close a PSN account, though this is more serious and will delete your ID.
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

If you’re selling your PlayStation 4, you may want to disconnect your PS4 user account from the device. You may even decide to permanently delete your PlayStation Network account.

Whatever your reason for deleting your PlayStation accounts, there are a few steps needed to accomplish either of these goals.

How to delete PS4 user account

1. On your PS4, go to Settings.

2. Choose Login Settings in the drop-down.

3. On the Login Settings page, select User Management.

A screenshot of the PS4 Login Settings page with a box around the User Management option.
You can find the Login Settings in the Settings menu dropdown. Kyle Wilson

4. On the User Management page, select Delete User.

5. A list of users will appear on the next screen – select the user you wish to delete.

A screenshot of the PS4 Delete User screen with a box around a user named User1.
To reach the Delete User page, select the ‘Delete User’ option on the User Management page. Kyle Wilson

6. Select Delete.

A screenshot of the PS4 Delete User screen with a box around the delete button.
After selecting delete on this page, your PS4 will ask you to confirm your decision. Kyle Wilson

7. Select Yes to confirm deletion of the account and wait for the PS4 to finish.

8. Click OK.

How to close your PlayStation Network account

Deleting your PlayStation Network account differs from deleting your user account as it deletes your PlayStation ID. Deleting it is a serious undertaking and will result in the following:

  • Loss of access to any content purchased using the account. The content is non-transferable and refunds are unlikely.
  • Your PlayStation ID cannot be used to create a new account.
  • Loss of access to any subscriptions and what they include.
  • Loss of access to your PlayStation Network wallet. Funds in the wallet are subsequently gone for good.

If you wish to delete your PlayStation Network account, this is how:

1. Go to the PlayStation support contact page.

2. Click Account & Security.

3. Click Change Online ID & other account questions.

A screenshot of the PlayStation support contact page with a box around the 'Account & Security' menu option and another box around the 'Change Online ID & other account questions' submenu option.
You must have ‘Accounts & Security’ selected on the support page in order to see the ‘Change Online ID & other account questions’ option. Kyle Wilson

4. Scroll down and under Need to contact us?, click Chat now in the Live chat box.

5. Fill in the requested information and click Request chat.

A screenshot of the PlayStation support Live Chat with a box around the account-identifying fields and the 'Request chat' button.
Your PlayStation Network account information is needed before you can start a live chat with a support team member. Kyle Wilson

How to take screenshots or videos on the PS5 and then view or share them onlinePS5 storage: How to manage your console’s storage or expand it with an external hard driveHow to use PS Remote Play to play PS5 games on a computer, mobile device, or another consoleHow to upgrade your PS4 games to play on a PS5 with better graphics and frame rates