How to delete all of your Facebook messages, using a browser or mobile app

ShutterstockIt might take a while to delete all your Facebook messages.

  • There’s no way to delete all your Facebook messages at once, but you can delete them one conversation at a time.
  • Deleting a Facebook message only deletes it from your account – the person or people you sent the message to will still have it.
  • There are several browser extensions that claim to be able to delete all your Facebook messages, but they don’t work reliably.
  • Visit Business Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Facebook Messenger is one of the most popular messaging apps in use today, in large part because it’s available on nearly every platform.

But Facebook has never made it especially easy to manage your messages. For example, it took years for Facebook to give users the ability to delete an accidentally sent message from both the sender and receiver’s app – and even then you only have 10 minutes to do so.

But what if you want to delete all your messages from Facebook Messenger? You can do it, but it’s not straightforward.

First of all, there are a number of Google Chrome browser extensions with names like “Delete All Messages” and “Fast Delete Facebook Messages.” Many users report that these extensions don’t work well or, in many cases, don’t work at all.

To delete all your Facebook messages, you’ll instead need to do it manually. Here’s what you need to know.

How to delete all your Facebook messages

It is possible to delete all your Facebook messages, but not with a single click. Instead, you need to delete messages one conversation at a time. If you’ve been a Facebook user for a long time and have a lot of conversations, this can take a while.

Moreover, keep in mind that when you delete messages, you’re only deleting them from your own Facebook account. The messages will still be available to whoever you were having a conversation with. So even if you delete messages, a complete record of them might still exist on someone else’s computer.

Here’s how to delete your conversations, via either an internet browser or the Messenger app.

In a browser:

1. Log into Facebook and open the Messenger pane.

2. Click the conversation that you want to delete.

3. At the top of the chat window, click the arrow to the right of the person’s name and choose “Delete conversation.” In the pop-up window, confirm you want to do this by clicking “Delete Conversation.”

How to delete all Facebook messages 1Dave Johnson/Business InsiderChoose ‘Delete conversation’ from the menu at the top of the chat pane.

4. Repeat this for every conversation you want to remove.

To delete them using the mobile Messenger app:

1. Open the Messenger app on your phone and scroll to find the conversation you want to delete.

2. Swipe the conversation to the left and tap “Delete.”

How to delete all Facebook messages 2Dave Johnson/Business InsiderYou can delete all the messages in a conversation by swiping in the mobile app.

3. In the pop-up at the bottom of the screen, confirm you want to delete the conversation by tapping “Delete.”

4. Repeat this for every conversation you want to remove.

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.