How to delete a user profile from Windows 10 in 2 ways, and erase all their data and files

Hollis JohnsonIt’s easy to delete a user profile in Windows 10.


One of the best security features in Windows 10 is the ability to add multiple user accounts. If multiple people use the same computer, setting up different user accounts is the best way to keep each user’s files private.

But if there comes a point when you want to delete a user, either because they don’t need it anymore or you want to block their access, deleting a user account from a Windows 10PC is simple, as long as you’re using an Administrator account.

Here’s how to do it.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

Windows 10 (From $US139.99 at Best Buy)

Lenovo IdeaPad 130 (From $US299.99 at Best Buy)

How to delete a user from Windows 10

1. Click on the Windows icon at the bottom-left of your screen and search for the “Settings” app.

2. Click the “Settings” app when it appears in the search results to open it.

How to delete user windows 10 1Jennifer Still/Business InsiderOpen Windows’ Settings app.

3. Click on “Accounts.”

4. Click on “Family & other users” from the menu bar running along the left-hand side of the Settings window.

How to delete user windows 10 3Jennifer Still/Business InsiderYou’ll find all of your computer’s user profiles in this menu.

5. Under the “Other users” heading, click on the name of the account holder you want to remove from Windows 10.

6. Click “Remove.”

How to delete windows users 10 4Jennifer Still/Business InsiderYou won’t be able to remove your own account while you’re logged into it.

7. Click “Delete account and data” in the pop-up that appears. The account will then be removed.

How to delete windows users 10 5Jennifer Still/Business InsiderMake sure that you’re ok with all that user’s data being deleted.

Note, however, that this method only works for users listed as “Other users.” If you’ve added another user to your “Family,” you’ll have to instead:

1. Go to https://account.microsoft.com/family/ and sign into your Microsoft account.

2. You’ll be brought to a page that shows all the accounts currently connected to your “Microsoft family.”

3. Underneath the name of the person you want to delete, click “Remove from family.”

Once you do this, their account should be deleted.

Note that deleting a user from your Windows 10 machine will permanently delete all of their associated data, documents, and more.

If needed, ensure the user has a backup of any important files they want to keep before you delete.

embed type
product
oEmbedUrl
html
embed type
product
oEmbedUrl
html

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.