Here's how Australian MPs voted on same-sex marriage

Senator Penny Wong is hugged by colleagues after parliament passed the same-sex marriage bill on December 7, 2017. Photo: Getty Images.

Australia has officially passed the marriage equality legislation, making same-sex marriage legal in Australia.

The House of Representatives passed the bill shortly before 6pm yesterday with just four MPs opposing it.

Australian same-sex couples will now be eligible to lodge their notice of intent to marry from this Saturday, December 9, and be able to marry from January 9, 2018.

Up until last night Australia was the only majority English-speaking country without marriage equality. It’s now the 26th country to legalise same-sex marriage.

Here’s the breakdown.

Who voted ‘No’

Independent Bob Katter

Liberal Russell Broadbent

Nationals Keith Pitt and David Littleproud

Who abstained from the vote

Treasurer Scott Morrison

Former prime minister Tony Abbott

Deputy PM Barnaby Joyce

Assistant ministers Michael Sukkar and Alex Hawke

Liberal MPs Andrew Hastie, Kevin Andrews, Rick Wilson

National MP George Christensen

Watch the moment it all happened in Canberra below

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.