Here's How Facebook's New Sharing And Privacy Features Work

zuckerberg drinkDoes Mark want his mum to see this picture? Now he has more control.

Facebook is making a bunch of changes to give users more control over what they share, what other people share about them, and where all this information appears. Facebook is also changing how location information is usedusers will be able to add location info to any post they make, even after they make it, instead of having to “check in” using a mobile device

Here’s an overview of what’s changing.

Privacy controls will appear next to every single post you make—you won't have to go to the Settings menu.

The three settings will include 'Public' (renamed from 'Everyone' to reflect that anybody on the Internet--not just your Facebook contacts--can see it), 'Friends,' and 'Custom.' Eventually, your Facebook Groups will be added--for instance, maybe you created a group for your Family, or High School Buddies.

Once you switch this setting, every post you make will go to the same group of people until you switch it back. So you don't have to check it every time.

The same privacy settings will appear whenever you edit information on your profile.

This new button gives you an easy way to see how others view your profile.

Before, you had to dig down a few menus to see how your public profile looked.

You'll also be able to see privacy settings for every post you've made in the past, and change them if you want.

The little icon here means you're sharing this photo with your friends.

Whenever somebody tries to tag you in a photo, you'll get a chance to approve or reject it.

Before, they could just tag you and information about the tag would appear on your news feed.

If you reject it, you can remove the tag, send a message to the user asking them to take the photo down, or block the tagger entirely.

You can approve or reject each one, or approve them all at once.

You can also easily control who can see tags on your profile page.

The three settings will include 'Public' (renamed from 'Everyone' to reflect that anybody on the Internet--not just your Facebook contacts--can see it), 'Friends,' and 'Custom.' Eventually, your Facebook Groups will be added--for instance, maybe you created a group for your Family, or High School Buddies.

Once you switch this setting, every post you make will go to the same group of people until you switch it back. So you don't have to check it every time.

Tag info appears by every photo you've been tagged in, too.

So you know exactly which photos of you have been shared on your profile.

In this picture, for example, you could add tags to anybody you know--even if you're not Facebook friends with them.

You'll also be able to make posts like 'I had a horrible coffee at Cafe Bleck today' and tag 'Cafe Bleck' without having to 'Like' that brand page first.

You will be able to add your location to any post.

Before, you could only add location to posts by checking in using the mobile version of Facebook from your phone.

You can fill in location information manually.

The current mobile Places feature only offers you a list based on your current location (which it gets from the GPS system on your phone).

Auto-fill will help you fill in location information.

Now, take a look at the competition that may have inspired these changes...

NOW WATCH: Tech Insider videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at research.businessinsider.com.au.