Here comes the Tesla Model 3!

Photo: Justin Sullivan/Getty Images.

When Tesla was founded 13 years ago, its ambitions were never to be just a one-hit wonder.

The electric car maker has always dreamed big, especially since CEO Elon Musk arrived and took over in 2008. What started with the peppy Roadster in 2006 evolved to include the luxurious Model S sedan, which hit the streets in 2012, and the Model X SUV, a 2015 arrival.

The master plan had always been to deliver all-electric mobility to the masses, and that’s where the Model 3 comes in.

It’s a $35,000 car with 200-plus-miles of range. It’s also a platform for future vehicles — everything potentially from a small SUV to a sport coupe to a pickup truck.

Worldwide, people have already lined up at Tesla stores to preorder a car — for $1,000. A car that they might not even get for two years.

Tesla will pull the cover off of its new baby at 8:30 p.m. PT/11:30 p.m. ET (2:30 p.m. AEST). Check back for updates as Elon Musk delivers the goods, live and on stage in Los Angeles at Tesla’s design center.

NOW WATCH: Elon Musk revealed how you can reserve the new $35,000 Tesla

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.