Google will now let you delete your location history automatically so it doesn't know where you are all the time

Getty/ Future Publishing / ContributorGoogle users can opt-in to have their location data automatically deleted.

Google is giving users more control over their data.

Users can now opt-in to have their location data automatically deleted from Google every three or every 18 months, depending on their preference.

The new feature was announced in May and formally rolled out on Wednesday. Before this, you would have to manually delete the data in the Google app’s settings section.

Google says that it collects this data to improve and customise its app experience but not everyone is comfortable with it keeping a record of their activity.

“Whether you’re looking for the latest news or the quickest driving route, we aim to make our products helpful for everyone,” Google wrote in a press release in May.

It continued: “We work to keep your data private and secure, and we’ve heard your feedback that we need to provide simpler ways for you to manage or delete it.”

Here’s a step by step guide on how to opt-in to the auto-delete feature.

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.


Tagged In

google sai-us