As we mentioned last month, Google will begin removing private Google+ profiles in an effort to make the entire network public.
A quick ex plainer on what that means: You need a Google Profile to use services like Google+, Reader, and Buzz. Services like Gmail, Docs, and Calendar do not require a public profile.
Starting this month, those with private profiles will receive a notification prompting them to make their profile public. It looks like this:
If you do not want your profile to be public, your only option is to delete it. Otherwise, you should select “Display my full name publicly.” After that, you should go back through your Google Profile and make sure there’s nothing posted you don’t want anyone who Googles your name to see.
Tip: You can see what the public sees by clicking the box shown in the top right of your Google+ Profile. It looks like this:
Clicking “Anyone on the web” will give you the public preview of your profile.