Ethereum is on a wild ride

LONDON — Digital currency Ethereum‘s volatility continues.

The cryptocurrency, the second most popular after bitcoin, fell 25% against the dollar across Monday and Tuesday. The price stabilised in early trade on Wednesday before rallying above $US200 again.

Ethereum is dipping again on Thursday morning, down almost 5% to $US212.22 at 7.57 a.m. BST (2.57 a.m. ET):

The choppy trade follows a 5,000% price rise for the digital currency since the start of the year. Mati Greenspan, an analysts with trading platform eToro, told Business Insider earlier this week recent falls are a price correction that has been “a long time coming.”

Meanwhile, bitcoin, which has also fallen over the past week, is stable. The digital currency is up 0.01% against the dollar at 8.07 a.m. BST (3.07 a.m. ET).

Learn more:

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at research.businessinsider.com.au.