Does OneNote automatically save? How to use the Microsoft app's sync feature to autosave

Watchara Piriyaputtanapun/Getty ImagesMicrosoft OneNote’s autosave feature can be manually controlled on Windows PCs.
  • OneNote automatically saves your work through its notebook syncing feature.
  • To use this Microsoft note-taking app feature, you have to enable the “Sync automatically whenever there are changes” option through the File menu.
  • On a Windows PC, you can disable and re-enable OneNote’s syncing feature at any time.
  • Visit Business Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

OneNote, an organizational platform in Microsoft’s Office Suite, offers an elegant solution to organising your personal and professional notes.

The program’s default setting on PCs and Macs is to save your work as you type automatically, and it’s one powerful way OneNote helps keep your life in order. If, however, your OneNote application is no longer saving as you go, you can re-enable the program’s automatic sync function to ensure things are continuously saved.

It’s important to note that you can’t enable or disable the auto-sync feature on OneNote for Macs, unlike PCs. So if you’re using the note-taking app on a Mac, trust that your work will always autosave.

Here’s how PC users can enable auto-saving in a few easy steps.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:


Acer Chromebook 15 (From $US179.99 at Walmart)

Microsoft Office (From $US149.99 at Best Buy)

Windows 10 (From $US139.99 at Best Buy)

How to autosave on OneNote using the sync feature on PC

1. Launch the OneNote app for Windows.

How to sync OneNote 1Emma Witman/Business InsiderClicking ‘File’ will redirect an open OneNote notebook to a hub of options.

2. Click “File” in the top left corner of your open OneNote window.

3. Select “View Sync Status.”

How to sync OneNote 2Emma Witman/Business InsiderIf you dislike automatic saving in OneNote, you can manually sync as needed.

4. Select “Sync automatically whenever there are changes.”

Does OneNote automatically save 3Emma Witman/Business InsiderA green progress bar will indicate a notebook’s progress toward being fully synced.

5. Click “Close” to return to your notebook. If there have been changes since your last manual sync, the notebook will then automatically sync.

embed type
product
oEmbedUrl
html
embed type
product
oEmbedUrl
html
embed type
product
oEmbedUrl
html

Related coverage from Tech Reference:

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.