Here's a running list of countries barring American tourists from entering as the US coronavirus outbreak surges to new heights

Mehdi Taamallah/NurPhoto via GettyA woman wears a face mask while standing in front of the Eiffel Tower in Paris on May 24, 2020.A woman wears a face mask while standing in front of the Eiffel Tower in Paris, France, in May.
  • Many countries around the world have banned international visitors, but some are slowly reopening their borders as they bring their coronavirus outbreaks under control.
  • But many are excluding travellers from the US, and other countries, currently struggling with the virus.
  • The US has more coronavirus cases and deaths than anywhere in the world, and infection rates have recently reached new heights.
  • The State Department is telling Americans to avoid all international travel and to contact countries’ embassies to see what entry restrictions and requirements they have.
  • Costa Rica opened to tourists on Saturday, but not those from the US.
  • H ere are many more, though not all, of the countries that have blocked US tourists…
  • Visit Business Insider’s homepage for more stories.

Most EU countries

Rostislav Glinsky/ShutterstockA Christmas market in Prague, Czech Republic.

The Schengen area, a border control-free travel area that encompasses 26 European countries, blocked nonessential travel from the US to its member countries, and four other European countries decided to follow the same rules.

The bloc reopened its borders to some countries from July, but left the US out.

European diplomats said they barely considered including the US because its cases were so high.

The countries where US tourists are blocked, are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Costa Rica

©John Seaton Callahan/Getty Images/Moment RFCosta Rica.

Costa Rica is reopening two airports on August 1, but only to tourists from the EU, the UK, and Canada.

The Bahamas

Valéria Almeida / FlickrNassau, The Bahamas.

The Caribbean island nation closed the borders to US visitors on July 19, but left them open for those coming from Canada, the United Kingdom, and the European Union.

It had reopened its borders three weeks earlier.

“Our current situation demands decisive action if we are to avoid being overrun and being defeated by this virus,” Prime Minister Hubert Minnis said.


REUTERS/Carlos BarriaThe Pudong financial district in Shanghai, China.

China blocked the entry of travellers from almost every country in March, aiming to stop a second wave of the virus after it got its own outbreak under control.

The ban on US travellers is still in place.


Associated Press/Rebecca BlackwellToronto’s skyline.

The border between the US and Canada is still closed.


Koichi Kamoshida/GettyA street in Tokyo, Japan.

The US is among the many countries that Japan has banned visitors from, and Japanese nationals who have been in the US at any time in the previous 14 days have to quarantine when they arrive in Japan.

New Zealand

ReutersThe New Zealand landscape.

New Zealand’s border is closed to almost all travellers, including US tourists.


ReutersThe Great Barrier Reef.

Practically no visitors are allowed into Australia at the moment, including those from the US.

South Africa

HandmadePictures / Getty ImagesCape Town, South Africa.

South Africa is not letting tourists into the country, and its airspace is closed to commercial flights.


Migel / Shutterstock.comMarrakesh, Morocco.

Morocco’s borders are closed for tourism.


Associated Press/Felipe DanaRio de Janeiro, Brazil.

Brazil has banned foreigners from entering by air, land, and sea, except in exceptional circumstances.


Sinéad BakerMedellin, Colombia.

Colombia closed its land borders in March, blocking international flights until September.


Stanley Chen Xi/Getty ImagesBuenos Aires, Argentina.

Argentina has closed its borders to foreign nationals and non-residents, banning commercial flights until September.


Shutterstock/Galyna Andrushko

Bolivia has stopped all international flights until July 31,and its borders are closed.


LUIS ACOSTA / Getty ImagesPanama City.

Panama is only allowing citizens and residents to enter, and they have to quarantine for 14 days when they do.

Commercial flights are not running.


Tim Graham/Getty ImagesA llama in Peru.

Peru has blocked travellers, except its own citizens returning. International borders are closed.

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.