Check Out The Seven New Bureaus, Offices, Councils, And Committees Created By The Financial Overhaul Bill

capitolhill traffic tbi

Complexity is the enemy of accountability.

By that standard, Chris Dodd’s new financial regulation reform bill may wind up making government less accountable for financial stability rather than more. It contains, by our count, seven new bureaus, offices, councils, or committees. In addition, it calls for at least three new “studies” by government panels.

The new bureacracies:

  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  • Office of Financial Literacy
  • Financial Stability Oversight Council
  • Office of Financial Research
  • Office of National Insurance
  • Office of Credit Rating Agencies
  • Investment Advisory Committee

The new studies:

  • Financial Stability Oversight Council will study the Volcker Rule
  • Office of National Insurance will study ways to modernize insurance regulation and provide Congress with recommendations.
  • The bill mandates an annual assessment of the SEC’s internal supervisory controls and a GAO study of SEC management.

NOW WATCH: Money & Markets videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at