How to cancel your PlayStation Plus subscription

PC gaming on desktop computer
To cancel a PlayStation Plus subscription, you’ll need to turn off auto-renew. chee gin tan/Getty Images
  • You can cancel a PlayStation Plus subscription online or on your gaming console.
  • PlayStation Plus is a paid subscription service that offers exclusive content and gaming capabilities to subscribers.
  • After your subscription ends, you lose access to all membership features.
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

PlayStation Plus is a paid subscription service that offers subscribers free games to download every month, PlayStation Store discounts, access to online multiplayer gaming, cloud storage, and more.

By default, your PlayStation Plus subscription will automatically renew, but it can be cancelled just like any other subscription service. If you find that you’re not taking advantage of the features enough to justify paying between $US5 ($AU7) to $US10 ($AU13) per month (depending on which payment plan you choose), you can cancel your subscription online or on your PlayStation.

How to cancel PlayStation Plus

You can cancel PlayStation Plus on a web browser or on your PlayStation device.

On a web browser:

1. Sign in to your Sony account. Go to the Account Management page.

Screenshot of a Sony Account Management page
You can change general settings and subscription settings on this page. Abigail Abesamis Demarest

2. Click the Subscription tab.

3. Click Turn Off Auto-Renew next to PlayStation Plus.

On a PS4 console:

1. Navigate to PlayStation Plus.

2. Select Manage Membership, then Subscription.

3. Select Turn Off Auto-Renew.

Screenshot of Turn off Auto Renew option on PS4
You can also choose to extend your subscription. Taylor Lyles

On a PS5 console:

1. Navigate to Settings, then select Users and Accounts.

2. Select Account, Payment and Subscriptions, Subscriptions, then PlayStation Plus.

3. Select Turn Off Auto-Renew.

What happens when you cancel your PlayStation Plus subscription

When you cancel PlayStation Plus, you will have access to all PlayStation Plus subscription benefits until the end date of your paid subscription. Once that date passes, you will lose access to all benefits, including monthly games, online storage, and online multiplayer capabilities.

When your PlayStation Plus subscription ends, you will no longer have access to free content that you downloaded as part of PlayStation Plus. If you choose to reactivate an expired PlayStation Plus subscription, you will regain access to this content. PlayStation Plus discounted purchases and any PlayStation Plus packs and avatars you’ve redeemed will still be available to you even after your subscription ends.

How to redeem PlayStation codes in 4 different waysHow to sign into your Playstation Network account on a PS4, and set up two-step verification for added securityHow to connect a PS4 controller to your PS4, and charge or add controllersHow to get a refund from the PlayStation Store for a game, pre-order, or subscription purchase