Here's when the 2019 Australian Open final starts where you live and how you can watch it live online

  • The biggest names in tennis are all vying for the first major piece of silverware in the 2019 tennis season.
  • Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic are all on a collision course en route to the Australian Open men’s singles title.
  • The race for the women’s crown is just as compelling, and features the old guard like Serena Williams as well as the new generation like Noami Osaka.
  • The men’s and women’s Australian Open final takes place this weekend.
  • Here’s everything you need to know.

The 2019 Australian Open in Melbourne is almost at an end and things are heating up ahead of unmissable finals in the men’s and women’s divisions.

Some of the sport’s biggest names remain in the competition, as Novak Djokovic hopes to continue his hot streak, while Stefanos Tsitsipas secured one of the tournament’s biggest scalps when he beat Roger Federer last week. Nadal plays Tsitsipas in the second men’s semi-final on Thursday, after Djokovic takes on Kei Nishikori on Wednesday.

Things are equally as compelling in the women’s singles competition. Serena Williams stunned the world No.1 ranked woman Simona Halep on Monday and now takes on Karolina Pliskova on Wednesday. She is three wins away from equalling Margaret Court’s record of 24 slams, though Naomi Osaka – who beat Williams in the 2018 US Open final – is also firmly in the hunt for silverware.

It all promises to come to a dramatic head ahead of the tournament final this weekend.

When is the 2019 Australian Open final?

The 2019 Australian Open final takes place over two days this weekend.

The women’s singles final will start at 7.30 pm AEDT on Saturday, January 26, while the men’s singles final takes place at the same time the next day, January 27.

Serena WilliamsPhoto by Mike Hewitt/Getty ImagesSerena Williams will be hoping to win a 24th major.

Here’s what time the Australian Open women’s final is expected to start in major cities across different time zones on Saturday, January 26:

  • London (BST): 8.30 a.m.
  • New York (ET): 3.30 a.m.
  • Chicago (CT): 2.30 a.m.
  • Denver (MT): 1.30 a.m.
  • Las Vegas (PT): 0.30 a.m.
  • Los Angeles (PT): 0.30 a.m.
  • Honolulu (HAST): 10.30 p.m. (Friday)
  • Sydney (AET): 7.30 p.m.
  • Tokyo (JST): 5.30 p.m
  • Moscow (MSK): 11.30 a.m
  • Paris (CEST): 9.30 a.m

And here are the expected times for the men’s final on Sunday, January 27:

  • London (BST): 8.30 a.m.
  • New York (ET): 3.30 a.m.
  • Chicago (CT): 2.30 a.m.
  • Denver (MT): 1.30 a.m.
  • Las Vegas (PT): 0.30 a.m.
  • Los Angeles (PT): 0.30 a.m.
  • Honolulu (HAST): 10.30 p.m. (Saturday)
  • Sydney (AET): 7.30 p.m.
  • Tokyo (JST): 5.30 p.m
  • Moscow (MSK): 11.30 a.m
  • Paris (CEST): 9.30 a.m

Why should I watch?

Rafa NadalGetty ImagesRafa Nadal is one win away from the Australian Open final.

Because after a small hiatus, the tennis season is back and has already delivered plenty of drama.

The year began with a bang when Roger Federer and Serena Williams played each other for the first time in history in a must-see doubles match at the Hopman Cup. Williams praised Federer after the match, called him the “greatest of all time,” and even took a selfie with the 20-time Grand Slam champion.

The Australian Open is the first of the four tennis majors to be contested this year, and carries many potential storylines. Will Djokovic maintain his dominance from the latter half of last season? Or will a new king like Tsitsipas announce himself?

The race for the women’s singles title is even more competitive as the experienced heads like Williams look to fend off the challenge from younger challengers like Osaka.

How can I watch live?

Audiences in Australia can watch the finals free-to-air on Nine, or online via 9Now.

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.