What's new -- and what's the same -- with the 3 new iPhone cameras

IPhone X iPhone 8Justin Sullivan/GettyThe iPhone 8, iPhone X, and iPhone 8 Plus.

Apple made a few major changes to the iPhone’s camera for the new iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus, and iPhone X (pronounced “ten”).

While iOS 11 will bring software updates to every iPhone’s camera software — which lets you edit live photos, scan QR codes, and more — the cameras on all three new iPhones announced on Tuesday will be a similar to their most recent predecessors, the iPhone 7 and 7 Plus, but with a handful of upgrades.

Here’s what you can expect from the cameras on all three new iPhones:

iPhone 8


What's the same:

Like the iPhone 7, iPhone 8 will feature a 7-megapixel front-facing FaceTime camera and a 12-megapixel rear-facing camera with an f/1.8 aperture. The rear camera system also has optical image stabilisation and a 5X digital zoom.

What's new:

The phone's quad-LED True Tone flash has something called Slow Sync, which uses a slow shutter speed along with a short strobe to create a more uniformly-lit photo. Plus, it works well in low-light settings. Apple says the camera on the iPhone 8 has a larger, faster sensor, and deeper pixels than the 7.

The iPhone 8 starts at $US699 and will be available September 22.

iPhone 8 Plus


What's the same:

Like the iPhone 7 Plus, the iPhone 8 Plus will feature a 12-megapixel wide-angle and telephoto lens and a 7-megapixel FaceTime camera. The wide-angle lens has an f/1.8 aperture, while the telephoto will have an f/2.8 aperture. The camera has an optical zoom and a 10X digital zoom, plus optical image stabilisation. With the iPhone 8 Plus, Portrait Mode is no longer in beta.

What's new:

The phone's quad-LED True Tone flash will also have Slow Sync. With the 8 Plus, Apple is also adding a new feature called Portrait Lighting, which will be in beta for now. The feature uses Apple's new facial land-marking technology to add studio lighting effects to portraits. Like the iPhone 8, the iPhone 8 Plus also has a larger and faster sensor, and deeper pixels, compared to the iPhone 7 Plus.

The iPhone 8 Plus starts at $US799 and will be available September 22.

iPhone X


What's the same:

The iPhone X features a similar dual camera system to the iPhone 7 Plus and iPhone 8 Plus, but with a vertical orientation. The phone has a 12-megapixel camera, optical and 10X digital zoom, wide colour capture, and Portrait Mode and Portrait Lighting.

What's new:

The iPhone X has a f/1.8 aperture wide-angle lens like the iPhone 8 Plus, but a f/2.4 aperture telephoto lens, which means the iPhone X is slightly better equipped to take photos in conditions with low light. iPhone X photos will probably be brighter and all around better than those taken on the iPhone 8 Plus.

Unlike the iPhone 7 Plus and iPhone 8 Plus, the iPhone X will have dual optical image stabilisation on both the wide-angle and telephoto lenses on the back, which means photos and videos will be smoother and less blurry.

What really sets iPhone X apart is its front-facing camera system Apple calls 'TrueDepth,' which is capable of facial mapping and will power Face ID, Apple's new method for unlocking your phone. The front-facing camera is also capable of taking Portrait Mode selfies.

The iPhone X starts at $US999 and will be available for preorder on October 27.

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.