AFL GRAND FINAL 2015: Hawthorn has sealed a hat-trick

AFL Grand Final. Photo: Michael Willson/ AFL Media.

Hawthorn: 16.11 (107)
West Coast: 8.13 (61)

Photo: Michael Dodge/AFL Media/Getty Images.

The Hawthorn Hawks made history after demolishing the West Coast Eagles to win their third consecutive premiership in last night’s AFL grand final at the MCG.

The first points came early in the opening half, with the Eagles winning a clearance and Luke Shuey securing the first goal after two minutes of play with a free kick.

But the Hawks — the oldest premiership team — were quick to turn the tables, kicking five goals and taking a 19-point lead at the end of the first quarter.

By this point the temperature had risen to 31.3 degrees, making it the hottest AFL grand final on record.

While the Eagles looked to be in better form when they returned for the second term, fumbles and missed opportunities gave the Hawks the upper hand.

Hawthorn skipper Luke Hodge seized the opportunity, booting an incredible goal from the boundary line.

A few minutes later Eagles captain Shannon Hurn blew a golden opportunity to fire back, missing from directly in front of the posts.

This disaster set the tone for the remainder of the half, with the scoreboard pointing to a 31-point margin between Hawthorn 9.3 (57) and West Coast 3.8 (26).

At the beginning of the second half, standout Hawks forward Jack Gunston managed to kick four goals after having recently recovered from a serious ankle injury.

By three-quarter time, the margin was 50 points in favour of Hawthorn. While West Coast forward Jack Darling scored in the first five minutes, he followed it up with two big missed opportunities.

The Hawks opened the final quarter with two goals in the first five minutes, compounded by the Eagles’ Luke Shuey’s poor pass inside 50, which went straight to Taylor Duryea, and Darling dropping a simple mark while in scoring range.

The Hawks won by 46 points in the end, easily securing their third consecutive premiership.

The hat-trick follows wins over Fremantle in 2013 and Sydney in 2014, where the Hawks steamrolled the Swans 137-74 in front of 99,454 fans.

While the Hawks secured their place in the history books as only the sixth team ever to achieve a premiership hat-trick — the most recent before them being Brisbane in 2001-2003 — the other big winner of the night was coach Alastair Clarkson who joined the ranks of Tom Hafey, David Parkin, Kevin Sheedy and Leigh Matthews, taking out his fourth AFL premiership.

“To our coaching group, we’ve had to do it really hard throughout the course of this year,” he said after the win.

“Thanks to … this group of players over here – a very, very special band of boys.

“They’ve made a real special part of our history with their efforts throughout the course of this year but particularly today, I couldn’t be prouder of you boys, thanks for your efforts.”

The Hawks have now won 13 AFL premierships.

NOW WATCH: Briefing videos

Business Insider Emails & Alerts

Site highlights each day to your inbox.

Follow Business Insider Australia on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Instagram.