26 New Senators Oppose PIPA After Yesterday's Protests

Senate in session

PIPA support is crumbling after yesterday’s widespread Internet protests as 26 new senators oppose the bill, seven of which were former co-sponsors, reports Ars Technica.

Senator Marco Rubio of Florida said he had “legitimate concerns about the impact the bill could have on access to the Internet and about a potentially unreasonable expansion of the federal government’s power to impact the Internet” and that the Senate should “avoid rushing through a bill that could have many unintended consequences.”

Orrin Hatch of Utah described the bill as “simply not ready for prime time.”

The full list of the bill’s new opponents appears below. Names with a star are those that were former co-sponsors:

  • Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)*
  • Mark Begich (D-AK)
  • Roy Blunt (R-MO)*
  • John Boozman (R-AR)*
  • Scott Brown (R-MA)
  • Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
  • Ben Cardin (D-MD)*
  • Tom Coburn (R-OK)
  • John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Jim DeMint (R-SC)
  • Orrin Hatch (R-UT)*
  • James Inhofe (R-OK)
  • Mike Johanns (R-NE)
  • Mark Kirk (R-IL)
  • Jeff Merkley (D-OR)
  • Jerry Moran (R-KS)
  • Lisa Murkowski (R-AK)
  • Rand Paul (R-KY)
  • John Reed (D-RI)
  • Marco Rubio (R-FL)*
  • Olympia Snowe (R-ME)
  • Pat Toomey (R-PA)
  • Mark Udall (D-CO)
  • David Vitter (R-LA)*
  • Mark Warner (D-VA)
  • Ron Wyden (D-OR)

NOW WATCH: Tech Insider videos

Want to read a more in-depth view on the trends influencing Australian business and the global economy? BI / Research is designed to help executives and industry leaders understand the major challenges and opportunities for industry, technology, strategy and the economy in the future. Sign up for free at research.businessinsider.com.au.

Tagged In

sai-us senate sopa