World Vegan Day is Nov. 1, celebrating the founding of
The Vegan Societyin November 1944.
We can understand why.
In terms of food, a vegan is someone who does not eat anything that comes from an animal. That includes meat, fish, eggs, milk and other dairy products, and even honey (which is made by bees). It also eliminates any animal-derived products like gelatin, which can come from the hides, tissues, or bones of cows and pigs.
But that doesn’t mean a vegan’s diet has to be limited to fruits, vegetables, and tofu. These traditionally health-conscious folk can indulge in brand name foods, too.
People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA) has compiled a list of “accidentally vegan” foods, which includes cookies, chips, and salad dressings. These products may not be great for your waistline, but you can breathe easy knowing no animals were harmed in the process.
Other than a possible issue with how sugar is processed, many Duncan Hines frosting flavours are a-ok for vegans.
Sugar is an issue for some vegans because some refined sugar is processed with animal bone char, although this is not stated as an ingredient in sugar.
The classic vanilla frosting flavour contains sugar, vegetable oil, water, and corn syrup, but no milk products. On the other hand, vegans generally have to be wary of homemade frostings, which may contain butter, milk, or heavy cream.
Many salad dressings are made with lecithin, an emulsifier that keeps oil and vinegar from separating, which can come from egg yolks.
However, several Newman's Own dressings, including Regular Balsamic and Olive Oil and Vinegar are just fine to smother on your salad. Newman's Light Italian Dressing is also safe, although regular Italian contains milk.
Margarine is usually touted as a butter-free alternative, but it can still contain trace amounts of dairy products such as whey, lactose, or casein. Smart Balance Light Buttery Spread is non-dairy and gelatin-free.
Business Insider Emails & Alerts
Site highlights each day to your inbox.